(SACRAMENTO, Calif.) — With all the emphasis law enforcement agencies have been putting on distracted driving lately, more drivers are suddenly becoming aware that perhaps talking on the phone or texting may not be the smartest thing to do behind the wheel.
But the California Highway Patrol is going one step beyond that this weekend, warning motorists that they can be ticketed if a cop feels that food is causing risky driving.
Eating while driving in the Golden State between 6 a.m. Friday and 6 a.m. Saturday could mean as much as a $1,000 fine if it impairs a driver’s ability to operate a motor vehicle. But the likelihood of such a steep penalty isn’t great since texters usually face a $20 ticket on a first offense.
Cops will also be on the lookout for other forms of distracted driving, such as reading newspapers or applying makeup.
Copyright 2011 ABC News Radio
Lisa France, CNN
Nate Eaton, EastIdahoNews.com