ESPN: 7 Catholic Schools May Leave Big East

Joe Robbins/Getty Images(NEW YORK) -- The Big East might be losing some more teams, but this time it's because of basketball.

The presidents at the seven Catholic schools in the Big East that are non-Football Subdivision schools are expected to hold a teleconference with Big East commissioner Mike Aresco Thursday, to decide whether the schools will leave the conference, according to sources of ESPN.

ESPN was also told it would be an "upset," if the schools remained in the league.

The seven schools are DePaul, Georgetown, Providence, Marquette, Seton Hall, Villanova and St. John's.

Those teams could attempt to dissolve the league or leave the league as a group. The league can be dissolved by a two-thirds majority vote by league members, according to Big East by-laws. There are currently only 10 members of the league that can vote, the seven Catholic schools, Cincinnati, UConn and South Florida.

This means the seven Catholic schools could vote to dissolve the League.

At this time, it is unknown whether the schools would attempt to do that.

Copyright 2012 ABC News Radio

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Advertise With Us

Would you like to advertise on East Idaho News? Fill out this form to contact a representative.
  • Full and Last
  • The name of your company, business or brand.