(ABU DHABI, United Arab Emirates) — A drop turned out to be a mistake, and Tiger Woods dropped right out of the weekend.
Woods received a two-stroke penalty early in his round at the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship on Friday, causing him to miss the cut.
On the fifth hole, Woods had thought one of his shots became embedded in a bush and talked it over with fellow golfer Martin Kaymer. They both agreed that the ball was embedded, and Woods took a drop. However, a writer discussed the situation with a rules official, and determined the ball was not embedded and Woods was assessed the penalty.
“Andy said the ball wasn’t embedded, because it was sandy based,” Woods said. “I called Martin over to verify it, and we both agreed it was. We thought it was embedded. But evidently it wasn’t.”
Woods ended up missing the cut by one stroke after a late charge. No. 1 – ranked Rory McIlroy also missed the cut after shooting 75.
Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio
Eliott C. McLaughlin, CNN Newswire
Jill Martin, CNN