Marc Gasol Wins NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award

Christian Petersen/Getty Images(MEMPHIS) -- Memphis Grizzlies center Marc Gasol was named the NBA Defensive Player of the Year, the league announced Wednesday.

The 28-year-old Gasol received 212 points, followed by Miami Heat forward LeBron James with 149 points and Oklahoma City Thunder forward Serge Ibaka with 122 points. Los Angeles Lakers center Dwight Howard, who won the award three times as a member of the Orlando Magic, finished in 14th.

Memphis had the top-ranked defense in the Association this year, allowing 88.7 points per game. Gasol averaged 1.7 blocks and 1.0 steals per game.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Advertise With Us

Would you like to advertise on East Idaho News? Fill out this form to contact a representative.
  • Full and Last
  • The name of your company, business or brand.