Library of Congress’ National Film Registry Welcomes 25 New Additions


Comstock/Thinkstock(WASHINGTON) — Disney’s Bambi, the 1991 Anthony Hopkins thriller The Silence of the Lambs and the 1994 Tom Hanks movie Forrest Gump are among 25 films that have been added to the Library of Congress’ National Film Registry for preservation.

Every year, the Library of Congress selects 25 movies that it considers “culturally, historically or aesthetically significant” for preservation.

Also making the cut this year: the 1921 Charlie Chaplin film The Kid, 1953’s The War of the Worlds, 1959’s Porgy and Bess and 1988’s Stand and Deliver.

Here are all 25 movies that made the registry, in alphabetical order, with the year of their release:

Allures, 1961
Bambi, 1942
The Big Heat, 1953
A Computer Animated Hand, 1972
Crisis: Behind a Presidential Commitment, 1963
A Cure for Pokeritis, 1912
El Mariachi, 1992
Faces, 1968
Fake Fruit Factory, 1986
Forrest Gump, 1994
Growing Up Female, 1971
Hester Street, 1975
I, An Actress, 1977
The Iron Horse, 1924
The Kid, 1921
The Lost Weekend, 1945
The Negro Soldier, 1944
Nicholas Brothers Family Home Movies, 1930s-40s
Norma Rae, 1979
Porgy and Bess, 1959
The Silence of the Lambs, 1991
Stand and Deliver, 1988
Twentieth Century, 1934
The War of the Worlds, 1953

Copyright 2011 ABC News Radio

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *