Home Run Derby Participants Announced


Share This Story

Major League Baseball(NEW YORK) — The Home Run Derby is one of the marquee events during Major League Baseball’s All-Star weekend, and the participants of this year’s contest have been announced.

Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano is serving as the captain for the American League All-Stars. He has chosen Angels outfielder Mark Trumbo, Tigers first baseman Prince Fielder, and Blue Jays outfielder Jose Bautista.

Cano and Trumbo both currently rank seventh in the American League with 20 home runs. Bautista’s 27 home runs lead all of Major League Baseball. Although, Fielder’s 12 home runs ranks him tied for 25th in the American League, he has been one of baseball’s better power hitters since entering the league.

Dodgers outfielder Matt Kemp on the other hand, is serving as the captain for the National League squad. He has selected Cardinals outfielder Carlos Beltran, Rockies outfielder Carlos Gonzalez, and Marlins outfielder Giancarlo Stanton.

Kemp has hit 12 home runs this season, but hasn’t played since June 30 because of a hamstring injury. He hopes to be able to compete in the event. Beltran is currently second in the National League with 20 home runs. Gonzalez currently has 17 home runs, while Stanton currently has 19 home runs.

The All-Star game is set for July 10 in Kansas City.

Copyright 2012 ABC News Radio

Respond to this story