2012 Heisman Trophy Finalists Named


Share This Story

Kelly Kline/Heisman Trophy Trust via Getty Images(NEW YORK) — Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein, Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o, and redshirt freshman quarterback Johnny “Football” Manziel were announced as the 2012 Heisman Trophy Finalist on Monday.

Manziel has thrown for 3,419 yards, rushed for 1,181 yards, and has been accounted for a total of 42 touchdowns and is the clear-cut favorite to win.

“I’m overwhelmed by this tremendous honor of representing Texas A&M, the 12th Man and all my teammates in New York,” Manziel said in a statement. “This is a dream come true for me, and I know it’s a credit to all my coaches and teammates. I definitely wouldn’t be a Heisman finalist without my teammates and coaches.”

Klein has thrown for 2,490 yards with 15 touchdown passes, and led his team to a Fiesta Bowl matchup with the Oregon Ducks.

“I’m just honored with this opportunity that the Lord has provided me here at K-State,” Klein said in a statement.

Te’o intercepted seven passes, led the team with 103 tackles, and led the defense to the team’s BCS Championship game against Alabama in January.

Copyright 2012 ABC News Radio

Respond to this story