Butler, Xavier and Creighton Join “New” Big East


Joe Robbins/Getty Images(NEW YORK) — Butler, Xavier and Creighton will officially be part of the Big East.

It was announced Wednesday that the three schools would join the seven Catholic schools from the current Big East, when the new Big East officially forms July 1.

The seven Catholic schools consist of Georgetown, Villanova, Seton Hall, St. Johns, Marquette, DePaul and Providence College.

“We looked for schools that had academic profiles like us,” said the Rev. Brian Shanley, president of Providence College. “We wanted schools with strong sustainable and sustained athletic programs. And we wanted schools that could play really good basketball, because that’s really the bread and butter of the Big East. And when we examined all the schools that we thought about, we came to the conclusion that the three schools seated here among us today were the best schools that we could possibly ask to join the Big East.”

It was also announced the new Big East has agreed to a 12-year television contract with Fox, and will also play its end of season conference tournament at Madison Square Garden through 2026.

While searching for a full-time commissioner, the schools have brought in former Big 12 commissioner Dan Beebe as a consultant.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *