Yale Wins First NCAA Hockey Championship


Justin K. Aller/Getty Images(PITTSBURGH) —  Jeff Malcolm was unstoppable Saturday night, stopping 36 shots as Yale won its first NCAA hockey championship with a 4-0 win over Quinnipiac.

Clinton Bourbonais, Charles Orzetti, Andrew Miller and Jesse Root scored goals for the Bulldogs (22-12-3), who avenged three losses to the Bobcats this season by beating the nation’s top-seeded team when it mattered most.

“There is no greater feeling,” Miller said after being named the Frozen Four’s most outstanding player.  “It was a team win, and our team is on the big stage now.  We deserve some respect, and again we’re national champions.”

Yale became the first ECAC team since Harvard in 1989 to win a national title.

Eric Hartzell saved 27 shots for Quinnipiac (30-8-5), but he allowed three third period goals that put the game out of reach.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *