Dale Jarrett Leads NASCAR Hall of Fame Class

National Sports

Streeter Lecka/NASCAR via Getty Images(CHARLOTTE, N.C) — NASCAR driver Dale Jarrett, mechanic Maurice “Chief” Petty, two-time premier series champion Tim Flock, driver Jack Ingram, and Fireball Roberts are members of NASCAR’s Hall of Fame Class of 2014.

NASCAR made the announcement of its newest members on Wednesday.  Jarrett got in on his first time on the ballot.

“I’ve always felt like it was an honor and a privilege to drive for NASCAR, and this sport has been such a huge part of the Jarrett life,” Dale said. “Now to be part of something that my father is a part of, it just means the world to me.”  His father, Ned, is in the Hall.

Jarrett is a three-time winner of the Daytona 500 and is 21st on the career list with 32 victories.  

Petty became the fourth member of the family to get the call, joining older brother, Richard Petty; their father, championship driver Lee Petty; and cousin Dale Inman, Richard’s longtime crew chief.

“It makes me happy because that means all of us are in. So I’m tickled to death with it,” Maurice said.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

Respond to this story