Miami Heat Win NBA Title

National Sports

Share This Story

Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images(MIAMI) —  LeBron James and the Miami Heat are on top of the basketball world for the second straight year as the team repeated as NBA champions, beating the San Antonio Spurs in a decisive Game 7 Thursday night.

James repeated as Finals MVP after he scored 37 points and grabbed 12 rebounds in Miami’s 95-88 victory.

As fans and sports pundits continue to compare him with the all time greats like Michael Jordan, James does not want to hear any of it. 

“Listen, I can’t worry about what everybody says about me,” James said holding the Larry O’Brien and his Finals MVP award.  “I’m LeBron James, from Akron, Ohio, from the inner city.  I’m not even supposed to be here.  That’s enough.  Every night I walk into the locker room, I see a No. 6 with James on the back, I’m blessed.  So what everybody says about me off the court, don’t matter.  I ain’t got no worries.”

The Heat became the NBA team to repeat as champions since the Los Angeles Lakers in 2009-10, and the first team to beat the Spurs in the NBA Finals.  San Antonio was a perfect 4-0 in previous NBA Finals.

Dwyane Wade scored 23 points and won his third NBA title.

The series clinching game followed Tuesday night’s wild Game 6, where the Heat rallied late to push the game into overtime and force a Game 7.

Tim Duncan led the Spurs in defeat with 24 points and 12 rebounds. 

“Just give credit to the Miami Heat. LeBron was unbelievable. Dwyane was great. I just think they found a way to get it done,” Duncan said. “We stayed in the game. We gave ourselves opportunities to win the game. We just couldn’t turn that corner.”

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

Respond to this story