Home Run Derby Participants Chosen


Share This Story

Paul Bereswill/Getty Images(NEW YORK) — The 2013 All-Star Home Run Derby participants have been selected.

American League captain Robinson Cano and National League captain David Wright made their selections Monday night.

Wright took Colorado’s Michael Cuddyer and Carlos Gonzalez, as well as Washington’s Bryce Harper.

Cano selected Detroit’s two-time champion Prince Fielder and baseball’s current leader in home runs, Baltimore’s Chris Davis. Cano said he’s still trying to confirm his final pick.

Bryce Harper, 20, will become the second-youngest player ever to participate in the Home Run Derby. Harper will be 39 days older than Ken Griffey Jr. was in 1990, the first year Griffey entered the contest.

“It will be a lot of fun,” Harper said. “Very thankful for David Wright texting me and asking me if I wanted to join the club and get on the team. I told him yeah…Absolutely. It would be my pleasure to do that and I’m very excited.”

The Home Run Derby takes place July 15 at Citi Field in Flushing Meadows, New York.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

Respond to this story