Pro Bowl Rosters to Be Determined by Draft


0  Updated at 2:04 am, August 1st, 2013 By: ABC Digital
Share This Story

Doug Pensinger/Getty Images (NEW YORK) —  The Pro Bowl is undergoing many changes that go into effect beginning this season.

Instead of the original AFC-NFC format, the league decided to rule in favor of captains choosing 43 players per team regardless of their conference.

The two leading vote-getters will be named captains and will be assisted by Hall of Famers Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders and two fantasy football champions in picking the two teams.

In addition to the draft, the NFL announced that kickoffs will be eliminated from the game as a safety measure.  The ball will be placed at the 25-yard line at the start of the game and after scoring plays, and a coin toss will decide which team gets the ball on the game’s first possession.

The two Pro Bowl roster spots normally belonging to kick-return specialists will be eliminated and replaced with an additional spot for a defensive back.

The draft will be held Jan. 22 next year, and the Pro Bowl will be played Jan. 26 at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *