Steve Martin, Angela Lansbury to Receive Honorary Oscar Awards


Share This Story

Michael Kovac/Getty Images(NEW YORK) — Steve Martin and Angela Lansbury will receive Honorary Awards from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, and Angelina Jolie will receive the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award at the Academy’s 5th Annual Governors Awards on Nov. 16 in Los Angeles.

Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs said in a statement, “The Governors Awards pay tribute to individuals who’ve made indelible contributions in their respective fields. We couldn’t be more excited for this year’s honorees and look forward to bringing their peers and colleagues together to celebrate their extraordinary achievements.”

According to the Academy, the Honorary Award, an Oscar statuette, is given “to honor extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy.”

Lansbury has received three Academy Award nominations for acting during her decades-long career and Martin has dozens of acting, writing and producing credits.  He is also a three-time host of the Oscars.

The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, which is also an Oscar statuette, is given “to an individual in the motion picture industry whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the industry.”

Jolie is a vocal advocate for a number of humanitarian causes and is a special envoy for the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

Respond to this story