Belichick Admits He Was ‘Wrong’ on Jones Penalty
(NEW YORK) — New England Patriots head coach Bill Belichick believes he has to do a better job at teaching his team all the rules in the NFL book.
Belichick admitted on Monday that he was “wrong” when he said that he didn’t think rookie defensive lineman Chris Jones’ unsportsmanlike penalty was an actual penalty after the game.
“On the field goal play at the end, Chris is obviously trying to do the right thing by stepping up and taking responsibility,” Belichick said during a conference call on Monday. “But that’s not his responsibility. That’s ours. I just have to do a better job of coaching that. That’s not his fault.”
Jones received the penalty for pushing another teammate during Nick Folk’s 56-yard field goal attempt, which then set the Jets up even closer for the game winner.
Folk nailed the 42-yard field goal with 5:07 left in overtime to give the Jets a 30-27 win.
“Obviously we are wrong,” Belichick continued. “It’s our job to understand the rules. Whatever the bottom line is, we didn’t do it properly.”
Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio