Scott Dixon Wins Third IndyCar Championship

National Sports

0  Updated at 8:15 am, October 20th, 2013 By: ABC Digital
Share This Story

Elsa/Getty Images(FONTANA, Calif.) — Scott Dixon won the IndyCar Championship Saturday night, while Will Power took home the checkered flag in the final race of the year, the MAV TV 500.

The 33-year-old Dixon clinched his third title and first since 2008 with a fifth place finish. Runner up Helio Castroneves finished 27 points behind Dixon in the standings.

The three-time Indianapolis 500 winner was leading the championship standings by 49 points two weeks ago, but a mechanical failure during the doubleheader race at Houston dropped him out of the top spot.

For Target’s Chip Ganassi, it’s their 10th championship since 1990.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *