2014 Baseball Hall of Fame Ballot Announced

National Sports

Share This Story

Jim McIsaac/Getty Images(NEW YORK) — Tom Glavine, Greg Maddux, and Frank Thomas will be among 19 newcomers on this year’s Hall of Fame ballot.

The 36-player ballot will also include Ray Durham, Eric Gagne, J.T. Snow, Richie Sexson, Todd Jones, Armando Benitez, and Paul LoDuca.

Last year the Baseball Writers’ Association of America failed to induct anyone into the Hall of Fame for the first time since 1996.

Results will be announced on Jan. 8 and inductions will be held on July 24 at Cooperstown the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Last year’s newcomers were from the steroid-tainted era that included Sammy Sosa, Mark McGwire, Barry Bonds, and Roger Clemens.

Craig Biggio led all first balloters with 68.2 percent of the vote last year.  Catcher Mike Piazza, who was also on the ballot for the first time last year, received 58 percent.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

Respond to this story