Fernandez and Myers Win Rookie of the Year Awards

National Sports

Share This Story

Brian D. Kersey/Getty Images(NEW YORK) — On Monday, Miami Marlins pitcher Jose Fernandez and Tampa Bay Rays outfielder Wil Myers were announced as Major League Baseball’s Rookies of the Year for 2013.

Fernandez, 21, won in the National League, beating out Dodgers outfielder Yasiel Puig.

Fernandez pitched 172.2 innings the season compiling a 12-6 record, 2.19 ERA, 0.98 WHIP and 187 strikeouts.

Myers received 23 of the possible 30 first-place votes to beat out Tigers shortstop Jose Iglesias and teammate Chris Archer for the American League award.

Myers, 22, was called up from the minors on June 18. He hit .293 with 13 home runs, 53 RBIs and a .354 on-base percentage.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

Respond to this story