Francona, Hurdle Voted League’s Top Managers

National Sports

Major League Baseball (NEW YORK) —  After guiding their squads to turnaround seasons, Cleveland Indians skipper Terry Francona and Pirates skipper Clint Hurdle won the Manager of the Year awards in their respective leagues.

In a close vote by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America panel, Francona edged Boston Red Sox manager John Farrell 112 points to 96 in American League balloting, despite the fact that Farrell led his team to a World Series championship this year.

“I have a feeling he wouldn’t trade what they did for this any day of the week,” Francona said.

Francona coached the Red Sox for eight seasons, winning two championships in the process, but never received any first place votes in the balloting.  It took him one year with the Indians to finally claim the prize.

In the National League, Hurdle was selected first on 25 of 30 ballots after taking the Pirates to the playoffs for the first time since the 1992 season.

“It is so rewarding for me to see what’s happened, the synergy in the city,” Hurdle said in Pittsburgh. “To be a small part of a group that’s able to bring joy at so many different levels — that’s what’s rewarding to me in life.”

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

Leave a Reply