Miguel Cabrera Named AL MVP, Andrew McCutchen Wins NL MVP

National Sports

Share This Story

Major League Baseball(NEW YORK) — For the second straight season, Detroit Tigers third baseman Miguel Cabrera was named the American League MVP.

Pittsburgh Pirates outfielder Andrew McCutchen was named the MVP over in the National League.

Cabrera followed up his Triple Crown season in 2012 with a tremendous season in 2013. In 148 games, he hit .344 with 44 home runs and 137 RBIs. He also won his second straight batting title.

He becomes the first player to win consecutive AL MVP Awards since Frank Thomas did it with the Chicago White Sox in 1993 and 1994.

Also for the second straight season, Mike Trout of the Los Angeles Angels finished second in voting. Chris Davis of the Baltimore Orioles finished third.

McCutchen becomes the first Pirate to win the NL MVP Award since Barry Bonds did it back in 1992. In 2013, McCutchen hit .317 with 21 home runs and 84 RBIs. McCutchen helped the Pirates reach the playoffs for the first time since 1992.

Paul Goldschmidt of the Arizona Diamondbacks finished second in voting, while Yadier Molina of the St. Louis Cardinals finished third.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

Respond to this story