Cox, Torre, La Russa Elected to Hall Of Fame

National Sports

Tom Szczerbowski/Getty Images(LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla.) — Retired managers Bobby Cox, Joe Torre and Tony La Russa were unanimously elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame on Monday, by the expansion era committee.

Cox managed for 29 years in the big leagues, where he compiled a record of 2,504-2,001. During his 25 seasons as skipper of the Braves, he won a World Series championship and the National League pennant five times.

As manager of the New York Yankees from 1996-2007, Torre won four World Series titles (’96, ’98-’00), becoming just the fifth manager in big league history to accomplish the feat. In addition to the Bronx Bombers, he also led the New York Mets, Atlanta Braves, St. Louis Cardinals and Los Angeles Dodgers during his 29 year career (2,326-1997).

La Russa won two World Series championships as manager of the Cardinals and one as skipper of the Oakland Athletics. In his 33 year career, his record was 2,728-2,365.

Enshrinement ceremonies will take place in Cooperstown, N.Y. on July 27, 2014.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *