Phoenix, Tampa Set to Host National Title Games

National Sports

Share This Story

Chris Graythen/Getty Images(NEW YORK) —  Both Phoenix, Arizona and Tampa, Florida will host college football’s 2016 and 2017 national championship games.

The University of Phoenix Stadium, the home of the Arizona Cardinals and site of the Fiesta Bowl, was selected over three other venues for the 2016 game, which will take place on January 11.

Raymond James Stadium was chosen over five other venues for the Jan. 9, 2017 game. It is home to the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and South Florida Bulls. It also hosts the Outback Bowl every year.

This will be the first college football title game in Tampa, which has hosted four Super Bowls.

The commissioners of the 10 Football Bowl Subdivision conferences and Notre Dame athletic director Jack Swarbrick voted on the sites.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

Respond to this story