David Stern Among Those Elected to Basketball Hall of Fame


Patrick McDermott/Getty Images(NEW ORLEANS) —  It has definitely been an eventful year for David Stern.

The former NBA commissioner was elected Friday to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and will be enshrined with the Class of 2014 on Aug. 8 in Springfield, Mass.

Stern retired on Feb. 1 after a 30-year run as commissioner of the NBA.  He was elected by the contributors committee.  Four others were also directly elected to the Hall by various committees.  

The international committee elected Lithuania star Sarunas Marciulionis.  Former Indiana Pacers coach Bob “Slick Leonard” was chosen by the ABA committee.  Former New York Knicks player Nat Clifton was selected by the early African-American pioneers commitee, and the veterans committee elected Temple star Guy Rodgers.

Former players Alonzo Mourning, Mitch Richmond, Tim Hardaway, and Kevin Johnson were chosen as finalists for the Hall.  The full 2014 class is expected to be unveiled April 7 during the NCAA men’s Final Four.

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

Leave a Reply