House Passes Bill to Delay Obamacare


Share This Story

iStock Editorial(WASHINGTON) — With the support of 12 Democrats, the House passed a bill Friday that would delay the individual mandate for five years.

The SGR Repeal and Medicare Provider Payment Modernization Act passed the House with a vote of 238 to 181.  Twelve Democrats joined all Republicans in voting for the bill. 

The Democrats included Reps. Ron Barber, D-Ariz.; John Barrow, D-Ga.; Ami Bera, D-Calif.; Joe Garcia, D-Fla.; Jim Matheson, D-Utah; Mike McIntyre, D-N.C.; Patrick Murphy, D-Fla.; Scott Peters, D-Calif.; Collin Peterson, D-Minn.; Nick Rahall, D-W.Va.; Brad Schneider, D-Ill.; and Kyrsten Sinema, D-Ariz.

The measure was initially developed to reform the payment system for doctors who provide services under Medicare — also known as the “doc fix” — which normally gains bipartisan support in Congress. But Republicans later tacked on a five-year delay of Obamacare, which was a deal breaker for Democrats.

The bill is dead on arrival in the Senate.

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

Respond to this story