Sponsored by Mountain View Hospital
broken clouds
humidity: 34%
wind: 7mph NNE
H 49 • L 47

Teton Valley Hospital recognized as Trauma Center


Share This
Julia Tellman, Teton Valley News

DRIGGS — The Teton Valley Hospital is now recognized as one of just three Level IV Trauma centers in the state.

“This means that the hospital has demonstrated an ability to provide advanced trauma life support,” Teton Valley Heatlh Care said in a press release.

The designation is awarded by the Idaho State Time Sensitive Emergency (TSE) Council, a body dedicated to reducing the top three causes of death in Idaho: trauma, stroke, and heart attacks.

Ann Loyala, spokesperson for TVHC, said that the hospital didn’t really have to change much to earn the designation.

“It doesn’t change our processes or skill level,” she said. “We feel the designation is good for the community to know that Teton Valley Healthcare is more than a band aid station.”

That’s because the training that hospital staff undergo is already quite extensive.

“All of our RNs [registered nurses] working in the ER are certified in the Trauma Nurse Core Course and the Emergency Nurse Pediatric Course,” said Angela Booker, Chief Nursing Officer. “All of our medical providers are approved for Advanced Trauma Life Support.”

The only rural hospitals in Idaho that share the designation are Lost Rivers Medical Center in Arco and Clearwater Valley Hospital in Orofino.

“This is a tremendous accomplishment for Teton Valley Hospital and they are among very few hospitals in the history of Idaho to be awarded this designation by the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare,” said the TSE Program Manager Christian Surjan.

The American Trauma Society recognizes five levels of Trauma Center.

“A Level IV Trauma Center has demonstrated an ability to provide advanced trauma life support prior to transfer of patients to a higher level trauma center,” they explain. “It provides evaluation, stabilization, and diagnostic capabilities for injured patients.”

The nearest higher designated hospital in the area is the Level II Trauma center in Idaho Falls, Eastern Idaho Regional Medical Center (EIRMC).

This article was originally published in the Teton Valley News. It is used here with permission.