Local station nominated for big country music award


Share This

IDAHO FALLS — Local radio station KTHK 105.5/105.9 has been nominated for one of the biggest awards in country music.

“The Hawk” is a finalist in the small market Radio Station of the Year category for the 53rd annual Academy of Country Music Awards. It’s the third time in four years that KTHK has been nominated in the same category.

Program director Don Jarrett, midday host Tommie Jo and afternoon host Cory Daniels learned about their nomination two weeks ago and thank the community for its support.

“It’s not just one person on the Hawk,” said program director Don Jarrett. “It’s definitely a group effort…the ‘Hawk Flight Crew’ has spent a lot of time out in the community.”

It’s an extra special time for the Hawk as Jarrett was recently awarded the Randy Jones Memorial Award for “countless hours of charitable work, selfless dedication to the community and listeners, and the tireless promotion and preservation of country music.”

The award does not sit in Jarrett’s personal office, but rather in the Hawk’s studio where all the hosts can see it daily. Jarrett believes it belongs there because he was not the sole winner of the award.

While at a country radio seminar in Nashville, Jarrett was invited to a showcase and then surprisingly called on stage. He was presented his award and handed a microphone.

“If I would have known that we were going to be recognized for an award, I would have put ‘The Hawk’ on it instead of my name,” Jarrett said. “It’s a team effort, it’s not just me…all of the charity work that we do at the Hawk is a team effort.”

Some of the charitable events the Hawk supports are “Walk a Miles in Her Shoes,” which is where men walk a mile wearing high heels to raise awareness about domestic abuse.

Another charity cause is “Star Guitar Charity Auction” where DJs ask various country artists to sign guitars that are then auctioned off.

The Hawk is competing against stations in Missouri, California and Louisiana for the ACM award. Winners will be announced April 15.

“It’s as much of a formula as it is a truth. If you care about what your listeners care about, they’re going to care about you,” Jarrett said. “That’s really what it has come down to.”