Jimmie Johnson Wins The Brickyard 400

Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images for NASCAR(INDIANAPOLIS) -- Jimmie Johnson won the Brickyard 400 on Sunday with a dominating performance at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

With the victory, Johnson joined Jeff Gordon as the only NASCAR drivers to win four times at the track, which has hosted stock car racing since 1994.  His other victories in the Brickyard came in 2006, 2008, and 2009. 

"Four wins? I'm at a loss for words," Johnson said in victory lane.

Only three drivers have ever won four Indianapolis 500’s.  They are A.J. Foyt, Al Unser Sr. and Rick Mears.

Kyle Busch finished second, followed by Greg Biffle, Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Gordon. 

Matt Kenseth, who came into Sunday's race as the points leader in the Sprint Cup Series was taken out of the race after a late collision with Joey Logano. 

Earnhardt Jr. became the new points leader in the Sprint Cup Series with 731.  Kenseth dropped to second place with 717. 

Johnson is now in fourth place in the standings with 704 points, five behind Greg Biffle. 

Copyright 2012 ABC News Radio.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Advertise With Us

Would you like to advertise on East Idaho News? Fill out this form to contact a representative.
  • Full and Last
  • The name of your company, business or brand.