NFL Stands by Seahawks Touchdown Call on Monday Night


0  Updated at 10:34 am, September 25th, 2012 By: ABC Digital
Share This Story

Otto Greule Jr/Getty Images(NEW YORK) — The NFL has spoken.  After last night’s blown-call by the replacement referees on the final play of the Packers/Seahawks game, which gave the Seahawks a 14-12 win, the league is standing by the officials.

“The NFL Officiating Department reviewed the video today and supports the decision not to overturn the on-field ruling following the instant replay review,” the league said in a statement on Tuesday.  “The result of the game is final.”

As for the push off by Seahawks wide receiver Golden Tate in the end zone.

“This should have been a penalty for offensive pass interference, which would have ended the game.  It was not called and is not reviewable in instant replay.

“When the players hit the ground in the end zone, the officials determined that both Tate and Jennings had possession of the ball.  Under the rule for simultaneous catch, the ball belongs to Tate, the offensive player.  The result of the play was a touchdown,” the statement continued.

But even with that statement, former NFL referee Jerry Markbreit is upset with what he has seen so far in the NFL season by the replacement officials.

“It makes me sick to see that 121 NFL guys that have been spending their whole adult life officiating are sitting home watching this travesty on television,” Markbreit said on ESPN Radio on Tuesday.  “It’s unbelievable.”

Copyright 2012 ABC News Radio

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *