Rangers Broadcaster Eric Nadel Wins Frick Award

National Sports

0  Updated at 9:27 am, December 11th, 2013 By: ABC Digital
Share This Story

Photos.com​/Thinkstoc​k(ARLINGTON, Texas) — Longtime Texas Rangers radio voice Eric Nadel was selected as the 2014 recipient of the Ford C. Frick Award on Wednesday.

The Frick Award is presented annually for excellence in broadcasting by the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

“I’m very proud and I’m grateful beyond words for having a chance to do this for a living,” said Nadel, who completed his 19th year as the lead voice of the Rangers this season. This year marked Nadel’s 35th year of broadcasting Rangers baseball.

“I wanted to give people the feeling that they’re my friend,” said Nadel, who grew up listening to Bob Wolff calling Knicks broadcasts as a kid. “I really felt those guys were my friends and I looked forward to joining them every night.”

Nadel said his best moment in the booth was in 2010 when the Rangers won their first AL pennant after defeating the Yankees.

Nadel becomes the first primary voice of the Rangers to be honored with the Frick Award. He’ll be recognized during the Hall of Fame Awards Presentation on Saturday, July 26.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *