Team Rice Wins the Pro Bowl 22-21


Share This Story

Doug Pensinger/Getty Images(HONOLULU) —  Dallas Cowboys running back DeMarco Murray caught a 20-yard touchdown pass with 41 seconds remaining and Carolina Panthers running back Mike Tolbert dove into the end zone for a two-point conversion to give team Rice a 22-21 victory over team Sanders in Sunday’s Pro Bowl in Hawaii.

Hall-of-Famers Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders selected the teams earlier in the week in a new draft format meant to improve the annual game. 

Rice’s team rallied after Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Nick Foles hit Cleveland Browns tight end Jordan Cameron for a touchdown to give Sanders a 21-14 lead.

The touchdowns scored by Cameron and Murray were the only scores in the second half.  The two teams combined for eight turnovers in what was the lowest scoring Pro Bowl since 2006.

“It was crazy, but we had fun with it,” Browns receiver Josh Gordon said. “I loved it and enjoyed it.”

Baltimore Ravens kicker Justin Tucker missed a 67-yard field goal on the game’s final play.

Foles was named the game’s offensive MVP in a losing effort, while Kansas City Chiefs linebacker Derrick Johnson took home defensive MVP honors.

Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

Respond to this story