Heisman Finalists Announced


Getty S 120312 Heisman%20Trophy?  SQUARESPACE CACHEVERSION=1418116941668Kelly Kline/Heisman Trophy Trust via Getty Images(NEW YORK) — Three of college football’s top players will soon travel to New York as part of the Heisman Trophy ceremony.

Alabama’s Amari Cooper, Wisconsin’s Melvin Gordon and Oregon’s Marcus Mariota were named finalists Monday for college football’s top honor. 

Mariota is considered the favorite to win the award after leading a Ducks team to a 12-1 record and a Pac 12 title. He has completed 68.7% of his passes for 3,783 yards with 38 touchdown passes and 2 interceptions. Mariota also has run for 14 touchdowns.

Gordon, who broke the single-game rushing record against Nebraska with 408 yards, has totaled 2,336 yards on the ground and 26 touchdowns. The record was broken the following week by Oklahoma’s Samaje Perine, who ran for 427 yards. If Gordon is able to run for 293 yards against Auburn in the Outback Bowl, he will eclipse Barry Sander’s single-season record of 2,628 yards, set in 1988.  

Cooper led a rejuvenated Crimson Tide passing attack with 115 catches for 1,656 yards and 14 touchdowns, as Alabama captured the No.1 seed in college football’s playoff.

The Heisman Trophy will be presented on December 13.


Copyright 2014 ABC News Radio

Share This