• Thu 84°F / 51°F

Obamas to Mark 20th Anniversary Before Debate

Official White House Photo by Pete Souza(DENVER) -- As the clock ticks down to Wednesday night’s debate, President Obama will enjoy some downtime at his local hotel and the first opportunity to see his wife Michelle on their 20th wedding anniversary.

The president, arriving from Las Vegas, will reunite at the hotel with Mrs. Obama, who is coming in from Reno, campaign aides tell ABC News.  The first lady did not attend her husband’s intensive three-day debate camp in Henderson, Nev.

Michelle Obama told the ladies of ABC’s The View last month that she plans to formally celebrate the marriage milestone with her husband on Saturday back in Washington. But aides would not rule out the possibility of a low-key celebratory dinner for the two Wednesday night at their Denver hotel.

The Obamas are expected to arrive at the debate venue together around 6:25 p.m. MT/8:25 p.m. ET.  Mrs. Obama will take her seat at 6:44 p.m. MT/8:44 p.m. ET and will be introduced second, after Ann Romney.

Aides to the president have been tight-lipped about any pre-debate rituals he might have backstage, but described his mindset and attitude Wednesday as very focused and “even-keeled.”

Obama, who has a well-known competitive instinct, is eager to get out there and perform, they told ABC News.  He told supporters on Monday in Henderson that debate prep has been “a drag” and that he’s been cooped up, having to do his “homework” -- signs he’s itching to move on.

In keeping with his daily routine, the president worked out in the gym at the Westin Lake Las Vegas Wednesday morning and received the Presidential Daily Briefing. He did not interact with any voters Wednesday, making no unexpected stops in Vegas or Denver.

Copyright 2012 ABC News Radio

Advertise With Us

Would you like to advertise on East Idaho News? Fill out this form to contact a representative.
  • Full and Last
  • The name of your company, business or brand.