Catholic 7 Leaving Big East


Share This Story

Tom Maguire/BIG EAST Conference/Collegiate Images/Getty Images(NEW YORK) — The Catholic 7 departure is official.  DePaul, Georgetown, Marquette, Providence, Seton Hall, St. John’s and Villanova will form a 10-team league by adding Butler, Xavier and Creighton, sources told ESPN’s Andy Katz.

“I am pleased that this agreement has been reached,” Big East commissioner Mike Aresco said on Friday.

“With the long-term well-being of our outstanding institutions and their student-athletes of paramount importance, each group worked through a number of complex issues in an orderly, comprehensive and amicable manner marked by mutual respect.  We part ways as friends and colleagues and look forward to the success of both conferences,” Aresco continued.

The Big East announced the move will come on June 30.

“We have not chosen a new conference name at this time and there are no favorites,” Aresco said in a statement. “We are going through a thoughtful evaluation of potential names for our conference, and will select a name in a timely manner.”

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

Respond to this story