MLB All-Star Game Rosters Announced


Share This Story

Jim McIsaac/Getty Images(NEW YORK) —  Major League Baseball announced the rosters for the 2013 All-Star Game on Saturday night.  The game will be played on July 16. at Citi Field.

Baltimore Orioles first baseman Chris Davis, who leads the MLB with 33 home runs, ended up as the leading vote getter with 8,272,243 fan votes.  He will be joined by Orioles teammates JJ Hardy and Adam Jones in the American League starting lineup.

Joining Davis in the infield are Tigers third baseman Miguel Cabrera, Yankees second baseman Robinson Cano, and Twins catcher Joe Mauer.

Mike Trout and Jose Bautista are the other AL starting outfielders, while Red Sox slugger David Ortiz will serve as the designated hitter.

Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina was the leading vote getter for the National League.  Reds teammates Joey Votto and Brandon Phillips will also start for the NL, as will Troy Tulowitzki and Carlos Gonzalez of the Colorado Rockies.

Bryce Harper, David Wright, and Carlos Beltran round out the NL lineup.

Yankees closer Mariano Rivera made the AL roster for the 13th and final time in his career.  Mets hurler Matt Harvey made the All-Star team for the first time and could be in line to start in his home ballpark.

Los Angeles Dodgers rookie outfielder Yasiel Puig was not named to the NL All-Star team, but is one of the five players eligible for the final roster spot via fan vote.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

Respond to this story