Florida State, Auburn to Play for BCS Title

National Sports

Share This Story

Chris Graythen/Getty Images(NEW YORK) — In the final year of the BCS, Florida State and Auburn will play for the National Championship on Jan. 6 in Pasadena, Calif., at Rose Bowl Stadium. 

The top-ranked Seminoles capped off a 13-0 season with a 45-7 win over #20 Duke in the ACC Championship game on Saturday night.

Meanwhile, the second-ranked Tigers won the SEC title over #5 Missouri, 59-42, Saturday night and earned their spot when #2 Ohio State lost the Big Ten championship game.

For Florida State it is the first time they will play for a national title since 2000, They are looking for their first championship since 1999.

Florida State is led by quarterback Jameis Winston, a likely Heisman Trophy candidate who recently avoided charges in a sexual assault investigation.

As for Auburn, they will look to make it eight consecutive national championships for the Southeastern Conference and the school’s second in the last four years. The Tigers won the 2010 BCS title when current head coach Gus Malzahn was the team’s offensive coordinator. 

The last non-SEC school to win the national title was Texas in 2006, when the Longhorns defeated Southern California at the Rose Bowl.

Copyright 2013 ABC News Radio

Respond to this story