TODAY'S WEATHER
Sponsored by Maverik
53°
clear sky
humidity: 87%
wind: 5mph N
H 53 • L 53

Starting today, Idaho drivers must provide proof of insurance to DMV or have registration suspended

Local

Share This

The following is a news release from the Idaho Transportation Department.

BOISE — Vehicle owners will need to provide proof of insurance for two consecutive months or risk having their registration suspended beginning in 2020.

The law (Idaho Code Section 49-1234) was passed during the 2019 Idaho legislative session and goes into effect in January. It requires the Idaho Transportation Department’s Division of Motor Vehicles to determine monthly whether the owner of a vehicle has insurance. The law applies only to non-commercial vehicles, and excludes trailers and off-highway vehicles.

A notification letter will be sent to affected vehicle owners to alert them of the law change.

Owners without insurance coverage for two consecutive months will receive a warning and be given 30 days to provide proof of insurance or obtain an exemption before their registration is suspended.

To reinstate a suspended license, owners will need to provide proof of insurance and pay a fee of $75.

Some vehicles are exempt from this mandate. For a full list of frequently asked questions, please visit itd.idaho.gov/driveidaho.

SUBMIT A CORRECTION