Your weather
overcast clouds
humidity: 91%
wind: 1mph NE
H 18 • L 16 nominated for 2 Emmy awards

From the Newsroom

Share This

SEATTLE, Washington — has been nominated for two Regional Emmy Awards, the Northwest Chapter of The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) announced Friday.

“The Daybell Story Unfolds” by reporters Nate Eaton and Eric Grossarth is a finalist in the ‘Continuing Coverage’ category and “She Lost her Limbs but Never Lost Hope” by Eaton is nominated in the ‘Serious Feature’ category.

NATAS Northwest recognizes broadcast excellence produced in 2020 from the states of Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington.

Eaton and Grossarth, along with the entire staff, spent the year tirelessly pursuing new developments in the case against Chad and Lori Daybell and the disappearance of Joshua “JJ” Vallow and Tylee Ryan. They were led to Hawaii, Arizona and Utah in pursuit of the story.

Other nominations in the ‘Continuing Coverage’ category include:

  • Unrest in Portland | KOIN (Portland, OR)
  • Covid-19 Is For Real: A Healthcare Workers Struggle | KCPQ (Seattle, WA)
  • LIFE Inside | KGW (Portland, OR)
  • The Rise and Fall of CHOP | KOMO (Seattle, WA)
  • Seattle’s Summer of Unrest | KCPQ (Seattle, WA)

In “She Lost her Limbs but Never Lost Hope,” Eaton shared the story of Rosalie Parker, a 9-year-old girl from Idaho Falls who lost her arms and legs following a car crash and life-threatening infection.

Other nominations in the ‘Serious Feature’ category include:

  • Passive Racist’s Dad | KING (Seattle, WA)
  • As close as you can get: Navigating loss in the time of coronavirus | The Seattle Times (Seattle, WA)
  • This Too Shall Pass | KOMO (Seattle, WA)
  • Running Toward Change: Putting a Movement into Motion | KCPQ (Seattle, WA)
  • Widow Covid-19 | KUNS (Seattle, WA)
  • The Ultimate Gift | KHQ (Spokane, WA)
  • We Are Wildcats | KGW (Portland, OR)

Emmy Award winners will be announced during a virtual gala from Seattle, Washington on June 5. You can view all of the nominees here.