Sponsored by Maverik
overcast clouds
humidity: 92%
wind: 8mph N
H 31 • L 31 honored with 4 prestigious Edward R. Murrow journalism awards


Share This

IDAHO FALLS — The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) announced this morning that is the winner of four prestigious 2017 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards. won in the following categories:


HARD NEWS: The Sunday Bandit

NEWS DOCUMENTARY: Without a Trace – What Happened to DeOrr Kunz?

EXCELLENCE IN SOCIAL MEDIA: A Church Burns Down is the only news organization in east Idaho to win a Murrow Award. Stories were judged against other entries in the five-state region of Idaho, Alaska, Montana, Oregon and Washington.

The Murrow Awards recognize the best journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world in 2016. They embody the values and principles set forth by Edward R. Murrow, a journalism pioneer who set the standards for the highest quality of broadcast journalism.

“Those who want proof of the important role journalists play in our society need only look at the work we highlight with the Edward R. Murrow Awards,” RTDNA Executive Director Mike Cavender said in a news release. “This is where real news happens.”

This year, RTDNA awarded 751 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in 16 categories, including Overall Excellence, Breaking News, Investigative Reporting, and Excellence in Innovation. RTDNA received nearly 4,300 entries during the 2017 awards season.

“The Murrow Awards are among the most respected journalism awards in the world,” News Director Nate Eaton said. “I’m especially humbled we won the ‘Overall Excellence’ award. Providing news and information to our community is the best part of our jobs and being recognized for serving our community is truly an honor.”

Regional winners automatically advance to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition, which will be judged in May. National awards are presented at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala at Gotham Hall in New York City on Oct. 9.

Other regional winners in Idaho include:



  • Overall Excellence
  • Continuing Coverage | Table Rock Fire
  • Feature Reporting | Idaho Kids With Epilepsy Get An Experimental Marijuana-Based Treatment
  • Hard News | Why Advocates Say Idaho Law Needs To Change To Help Victims Of Stalking
  • News Series | Watering Idaho
  • Website |



  • Breaking News | Table Rock Fire
  • Excellence in Social Media |
  • Feature Reporting | Dicks Chevron
  • News Series | The Corridor

A complete list of the 2017 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards winners can be found by clicking here.